The church had its beginning with services held in different homes during 1945-46 with actual organization in early 1947. Reverend David F. Glovier was appointed as the first pastor in September 1947. There were 36 charter members. Excavation for the present building was done in July 1948, with Homer Frasher as Building Supervisor. It was completed in one year.
The first service was held August 7, 1949. On April 7, 1968, it was voted by the congregation to change the name from Evangelical United Bretheren to Glovier Memorial UMC. This change was in anticipation of the merger of the EUB and the Methodist denomination. The church has been shephered by 14 pastors. We remember our rich heritage and look forward to the great things God has in store for his church.
Front Row: Superintendent Floyd Funk, Bishop Showers, Rev. David Glovier, W.C. Wichael, D.W. May
Middle Row: Jerry Seiger, Russel Lane, Alvin Swink, Homer Frasher (Builder), Roy Williams
Back Row: Al May, Richard McKenna, Emery Cline, J.W. Sandy, James Daughtry